# **Murrindindi Australia Day Awards Recipients**

### Australia Day 2022

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year

## Australia Day 2021

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year

## Australia Day 2020

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year

### Australia Day 2019

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year

## Australia Day 2018

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year

## Australia Day 2017

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2016

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

#### Australia Day 2015

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2014

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2013

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2012

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2011 Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Sam Hicks Riley Thomas Margaret Hale

Elise Anderson Nicholas Charles John Stewart

Sasha Barrow Logan McKimmie Sydney Savage

Matthew Noonan Tamara Wilson Pam Petersen

Fern Hames Kate Chalmers Pamela Lawless Wayne Miller

Ray Steyger, Alexandra Melissa Peart, Marysville Marysville Jazz

Paul Bannon, Yea Thomas Walters, Eildon Marysville Jazz and Blues Weekend

Stephen Joblin, Flowerdale Michelle Willans, Narbethong The 100<sup>th</sup> Yea Show

Rosemary Chester, Alexandra Timothy Shaw, Gobur Eildon Lions Easter Market

Steve Meacher, Toolangi Natasha Beggs, Eildon Alexandra District Open Gardens

Brad Quilliam, Kinglake Ayden Embling, Alexandra Marysville Sparkling Wine Festival

Valerie Borrie, Yea Danielle Shaw, Gobur

# **Murrindindi Australia Day Awards Recipients**

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

#### Australia Day 2010

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

### Australia Day 2009

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2008

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

### Australia Day 2007

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

### Australia Day 2006

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Cathedral Riding Citizen of the Year

Cheviot Riding Citizen of the Year Dennis Riding Citizen of the Year King Parrot Riding Citizen of the Year Redgate Riding Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Major Community Event of the Year Murrindindi Minor Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2005

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

#### Australia Day 2004

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2003

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2002

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 2001

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year Red Wristband Ball, Kinglake

David Hall, Alexandra Jarryd Biffin, Alexandra Toolangi & Castella Bushfire Garden Restoration, Kinglake

Ronald Drysdale, Yea Kathryn Buckland and Rhiannon Aldous, Yea Toolangi Festival

Joan Coller, Alexandra Sarah Garlick, Yea Molesworth Easter Bazaar

Rex Tate Bandemonium Back to Wall, Eildon Action

Jean Laws Tom Maunsell (Posthumous Award – to be collected by Tom's wife Mrs Helen Maunsell) Christine (Tina) Gorman Bruce Stonehouse Donald McQueen Maurie Pawsey Patrick Borg Hoof Over Hills 2005 Bush Kids Music Festival 2005

William and Valerie Wilson Andrew Belsten Alexandra Traders & Tourism Association – Alexandra Truck, Ute & Rod Show 2004

Jim Sherlock Jason Cromarty Flowerdale Primary School Hoof Over Hills 2003

David Fitzroy Rotary Club of Alexandra - 2002 Easter Art Show

Elaine White Kate Goschnick Alexandra Truck, Ute & Rod Show 2001

Peter Weeks Tessa Abbottsmith Youl Opening of the Rotary Club of Alexandra

# **Murrindindi Australia Day Awards Recipients**

## Australia Day 2000

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

## Australia Day 1999

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 1998 Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Australia Day 1997 Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Australia Day 1996 Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Australia Day 1995 Yea recipient Alexandra recipients Time Capsule from 1975

Alan Worrall Jones Kim Campbell Alexandra Truck, Ute & Bus Show 1999

Cheryl O'Halloran Matthew Bibby Lions Club of Eildon - Eildon Christmas Eve Party

Lorna Warne Susan Milroy

Richard (Dick) and Margaret McKernan

**Donald McLeish** 

Margaret Mahon Hilda Williamson (senior award) and Anthony Collis (junior award)

Council amalgamations took place in November 1994 and prior to that date it is understood that the Australia Day Awards were co-ordinated by the Shire of Yea for the Yea district and the Alexandra Apex Club for the Alexandra district.

From old Shire of Yea files it has been identified that Award recipients were as follows:

- 1994 Mr John Aldous and Ms Deidre Hawkins
- 1993 Fr. Terry Pidoto
- 1992 Mr Alexander Dougal Drysdale
- 1991 Mrs Jan Joyce
- 1990 Mr Arthur Lindsay Bassett and Ms Margaret Jean Wawn
- 1989 Mr Craig Leslie Walker (Young Citizen), Mr Colin Alexander Purvis and Mrs Joan Gwenneth Byrne
- 1988 unknown
- 1987 Mrs Mary Waters
- 1986 Kinglake Mountain Monthly
- 1985 Mr Čolin Egan
- 1984 Mr Thomas Dignam
- 1983 unknown
- 1982 Mr Peter Mackay Lloyd
- 1981 Mrs Grace M. Bennetts

We do not hold Award information for the Shire of Alexandra prior to 1995.