Road Maintenance and Management

Council, VicRoads and other agencies such as Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA) share responsibility for Murrindindi Shire's public road network. Council is responsible for approximately 490 km of sealed road and 720 km of unsealed road. DEECA manage and maintain a number of roads and tracks within crown land areas. 

Council is responsible for the roadside maintenance of VicRoads controlled roads within the 60 km zones of townships. The level of maintenance is determined by the road classification and maintenance standards outlined in Council’s Road Management Plan(PDF, 259KB) and Register of Public Roads(PDF, 345KB).  

VicRoads is responsible for maintenance of the following roads (travel lanes only) and highways, consisting of approximately 380 km.     

  • Acheron Way
  • Aitken Street, Alexandra
  • Broadford-Flowerdale Road
  • Buxton-Marysville Road 
  • Downey Street, Alexandra
  • Fitzgerald Street, Strath Creek
  • Forbes Street, Strath Creek
  • Glover Road, Strath Creek
  • Goulburn Valley Highway
  • Grant Street, Alexandra
  • Healesville-Kinglake Road
  • Heidelberg-Kinglake Road
  • High Street, Yea
  • Lake Mountain Road
  • Maroondah Highway
  • Maroondah Link Highway
  • Marysville Road
  • Marysville-Woods Point Road
  • Murchison Street, Marysville
  • Melba Highway
  • Munro Street, Strath Creek
  • North Street, Yea
  • Station Street, Yea
  • Taggerty-Thornton Road
  • Whittlesea-Kinglake Road
  • Whittlesea-Yea Road
  • Woods Point Road

For enquiries regarding these roads contact VicRoads on 13 11 70 or visit

Council undertakes an annual program of re-sheeting and grading for gravel roads, re-sealing and line marking for sealed roads, and roadside slashing. Roadside slashing maintains line of sight, and visibility of guideposts and road signs. Certain roads are identified in the Municipal Fire Prevention Plan as fuel reduction corridors where fuel loads are reduced by roadside slashing or herbicide spraying.

To request maintenance on a Council road please complete a customer request.

Signposted Significant Vegetation Roadsides

  • Cathedral Lane, Taggerty
  • Frees Road, Gobur
  • Captains Creek Road, Kinglake
  • Old Highlands Road, Highlands
  • Old Fawcett Road, Koriella
  • Burns Road, Glenburn
  • Native Dog Road, Molesworth
  • Racecourse Road, Yea
  • Deviation Road, Kinglake
  • Kings Road, Kinglake
  • Spring Valley Rd – Old Spring Valley Rd loop, Flowerdale
  • Upper King Parrot Creek Road, Strath Creek
  • Cherry Lane, Toolangi
  • Spraggs Road, Toolangi
  • Mt Pleasant Road, Alexandra
  • Old Mt Slide Road, Kinglake
  • Campbells Creek Road, Castella
  • Grannies Lane, Alexandra
  • McColl Lane, Acheron
  • Murrays Road, Kinglake