About Council Meetings

Council meetings are generally held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at either the Yea or Alexandra Council Chambers at 6.00 pm.

Council meetings are a good way for the community to see how local decision making takes place and to observe Council’s democratic processes.

  • All meetings are usually open to the public, however they may be closed to the public to discuss confidential matters.
  • All meetings are conducted in accordance with our Governance Rules.
  • Community members can submit Questions of Council or speak to Council during the Open Forum session
  • All meetings are livestreamed.
  • Audio recordings of all Council meetings open to the public are also available.

Council meeting agendas detail the order of business to be discussed and decided. Councillors discuss various issues and make decisions on the recommendations included within the agenda. The CEO and Directors of each department attend the meetings.

Additional Council meetings may be called to discuss and decide upon specific matters.

2024 Council Meeting Dates:

  • Wednesday 28 February 2024, Online via Zoom, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 27 March 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 24 April 2024, Yea - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 22 May 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 29 May 2024, Fawcett Hall, Open Community Meeting 5:00 pm
  • Wednesday 12 June 2024, Yea - Special Meeting of Council to adopt the 2024/25 Annual Budget, Council Chamber, 5.00 pm
  • Wednesday 26 June 2024, Yea - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 24 July 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 31 July 2024, Taggerty Hall, Open Community Meeting 5:00 pm
  • Wednesday 28 August 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 25 September 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Election Period (Caretaker) Commences Thursday 17 September 2024
  • Wednesday 23 October 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 13 November 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • November and December - Swearing in of Councillors and Election of Mayor
  • Wednesday 27 November 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm
  • Wednesday 11 December 2024, Alexandra - Council Chamber, 6.00 pm