Community Awards

The presentations can be viewed on this page, via Facebook live stream, or listened to on UGFM radio, starting from 6.00 pm on Saturday 25 May.

To read about this year's nominees, view our media release here.

Murrindindi Shire Council's Community Awards, previously called our Citizen of the Year Awards, are held each year, and are an opportunity to recognise the outstanding contributions of volunteers who demonstrate exceptional community spirit and a willingness to help others.

Our four Award categories are:

  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Senior Volunteer of the Year
  • Young Volunteer of the Year
  • Community Group of Initiative of the Year

Do you know someone who’s made a significant contribution to Murrindindi Shire? Would you like to celebrate the work of a local community group or initiative? Why not recognise their efforts and nominate them for a Community Award. Tell us who inspires you, and how they make our Shire a better place.

Award recipients are presented during National Volunteer Week in May (20-26 May 2024) – providing the perfect opportunity for everyone to celebrate the contributions of people in our communities.

Our 2023 Awards recipients are: 

  • Murrindindi Shire Citizen of the Year - Sarah Southam
  • Murrindindi Shire Young Citizen of the Year - Alastair Gerrey and Kirk Mercuri
  • Murrindindi Shire Senior Citizen of the Year - Bob Emblin
  • Murrindindi Shire Community Group of the Year - The Alexandra Truck Show Committee

A list of the past Awards recipients can be found in our Previous Awards Recipients document(PDF, 95KB).

We will continue to support community members and groups who usually run events for Australia Day, including by providing funding assistance and promotional support to Australia Day events.

For more information about Australia Day in Murrindindi Shire you can contact Council's Tourism and Events Unit on (03) 5772 0333.