Fire Ratings and Restrictions

Grass fire through bushland.png

What Fire District are we in? 

Victoria is divided into nine Fire Districts based on different council boundaries. Murrindindi Shire sits within the North Central Fire District. 

To find out information about the Fire Danger Rating for the North Central District and others, visit the CFA website

Fire Ratings 

Fire Danger Ratings tell you how dangerous a fire could be if one started. They are important because they help you decide what actions to take to protect yourself and others from bushfires and grass fires. 

For information on Fire Danger Ratings, what they mean and what you should do, visit the CFA Website: About Fire Danger Ratings

Fire Danger Period 

The Fire Danger Period is when CFA restricts the use of fire in the community. This is to help prevent fires from starting. 

CFA declares the Fire Danger Period for each municipality at different times in the lead up to the fire season. It depends on the amount of rain, grassland curing rate and other local conditions. 

To find out when the Fire Danger Period in is place for Murrindindi Shire, visit the CFA website: Fire Danger Period Restrictions.  

For information on what you can and can’t do during the Fire Danger Period visit the CFA website: Can I or Can’t I? 

Total Fire Bans 

Total Fire Bans are declared by CFA on days of heightened fire danger to reduce the risk of a fire starting. 

There are increased restrictions that our community and visitors need to be mindful of during Total Fire Bans. For information on what you can and can’t do during a Total Fire Ban, visit the CFA Website – Can I or Can’t I?